Placebo Effect?

Discuss how medications do or do not work for you. Post as a new topic.
Darwin's i-Pod

Placebo Effect?

Post by Darwin's i-Pod »

http://thechart.blogs.cnn.com/2011/06/1 ... -placebos/

I don't know what to think about this... I just know I'm scared that it might be true.

I hope it's not
Michigoose

Re: Placebo Effect?

Post by Michigoose »

I've always wondered about this.

I usually come to the conclusion that I don't care whether it's placebo effect or not. If it is, I wish someone would make placebo pills with fewer side effects. And that they'd be cheaper, but maybe that's also part of the placebo effect. "I paid a lot for it, so it must be working."
"Science flies you to the moon. Religion flies you into buildings." --Victor Stenger
Eternally Learning

Re: Placebo Effect?

Post by Eternally Learning »

I'll begin by stating I'm not an expert in the field of mental health or neurology and do not even have a firm opinion on these matters myself so please do not take anything I say as anything more than my opinions, assertions, and questions.

On its face the wikipedia article on anti-depressants seems to back up some of what this article is putting forth in that it says that the effects beyond placebo are not very large and not always consistent. There are some tidbits of knowledge that make me question whether these drugs are all placebo though.