Self Medicating

Discussions on addictions and their relationship to depression. Post as new topic.
CrazyCanadian

Self Medicating

Post by CrazyCanadian »

Hi. It's my first time posting. I've always had troubles, and went through alot of counselling and in patient treatment at age fifteen. I attended AA and stayed sober from fifteen to twenty two. I had alot of moods and depression to deal with in that time, but I went to meetings almost every night and relied heavily on the group.
At twenty two, I had my first joint and have not stopped since, and I am now thirty seven. At twenty two, I began antidepressants. At twenty two I was married and am still married. I moved away from al my support systems and tried it on my own. So hear I am. Smoking every day, on Cymbalta and wellbutrin, and its starting to get worse. I am starting to think crazy thoughts, and sometimes say things I shouldn't. I can barely leave my house and do not allow others to come in my house. There's a strange reassurance in knowing that others feel or have felt like I do now. I am hoping that if i can build up my strength enough through info and reading others' thoughts and stories, that I can find a way to reach out to someone outside of my little world, and maybe start making changes. My brain is failing me, and alot of it is my fault. Some of it I would have whether or not I was sober, but I think I would be able to reclaim some form of a life if I could see past my own front door. Thanks for creating a place like this, and I look forward to learning.
Rosie

Re: Self Medicating

Post by Rosie »

Hi

It's good that you've reached out, it's so difficult when you take something that makes things worse not better. Something that worked for me was reading Allen Carr his books have helped so many people, it could help you get rid of the habit and get you back to the man you are inside :)

(Easyway to stop smoking forever)
ghughes1980