Mental Health Services in the UK

To open a discussion, post as new topic.
nate23

Mental Health Services in the UK

Post by nate23 »

Hello all,

I'm an American in graduate school in London and I need some guidance. I was hoping that there are some British people out there who could guide me through the NHS system. I'm currently seeing a counselor associated with the university I attend, but it really isn't helping. The counselor is nice enough, but the approach she is taking is not medical. For instance, she told me the idea of "diagnosing" mental illness was a peculiarity of the American mental health field, and when I brought up medication she didn't know what ssris were.

As I understand it, I probably should see a GP. I'm registered with the GP attached to the university, but I'm afraid if I go for mental health it will be dealt with in a manner similar to the counselor. Honestly, I need to be on medication. Is there a way to bypass the GP and see a psychiatrist directly?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Golden_Tongue

Re: Mental Health Services in the UK

Post by Golden_Tongue »

Hi Nate23,