I love the holidays, but I know not everyone does

Whether it is good or bad, talk about it here.
RightInTwo
Issues: CPTSD, self loathing, self isolation
preferred pronoun: she

I love the holidays, but I know not everyone does

Post by RightInTwo »

First off, please accept my apologies for temporarily ghosting this place. I started programming again, yay! I’m doing much better with balancing my time (not spending 12 solid hour chunks of time glued to the computer), but between that, working out, and housekeeping chores, I just don’t spend much time online anymore.

I’m also doing better with walking away from the computer when I become “stuck” on a problem, instead of losing the rest of the day fruitlessly googling for an answer to a problem that is (apparently) way too specific. And then letting that frustration evolve into despair and self loathing. The thoughts are still there, but now I just shut off the computer and do something else until they go away, which counts as a victory imo. 😊

I’m leaving in a few days to spend a couple of weeks with my mom & family. One of mom’s cats died last week, (he was very old) which is significant because he had belonged to her sister who died a number of years ago. This aunt of mine raised me for a year or so when my mom was going through her divorce with my biological father, and even though I was only 3 - 4 years old, I always felt a special bond with her, and by extension, the kitty that she left behind. His name was Rascal ☺️.

Then, right after Thanksgiving, my cousin Bobby died. Bobby was around 70, but he always had the mind of a 3 year old. He was deeply loved by the entire family, and always attended family events, cheerful and helpful. He will be missed.

So, my visit this time will be bittersweet. 💔💔

I know the holidays can be difficult, especially, potentially, for people here in this support group. I hope you all find some joy, or peace, or even relief, if not all of the above.

Love to you all.