do you feel like a failure?

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
Kayleigh

do you feel like a failure?

Post by Kayleigh »

I listen to a lot of these stories about how folks had these hard lives... yet they were over achievers.. super smart, went on to have great careers, $$ etc.. that they adapted to their misfortunes by "being the best they could be".

Yet.. MY story is different. While I wouldn't consider myself stupid.. I never did well in school.. I had a TON of peer problems.. no friends, beat up on the playground, struggled with school, was kicked OUT of a private school because I didn't do well enough. I had a ton of tutors.. had to go to summer school, almost failed HS (but at the last minute got 2 A's and pulled myself up out of the gutter) struggled in College.. never really did much in my life.. although I have my Masters in Library Science..(where I did manage to peform well) but never did anything with that degree.

I am basically pretty mediocre... any talents I feel I have.. get lost among everyone else.. I try to build up my self esteem about my talent.. which requires some energy.. only to be kicked down again. .. In fact at times.. I get angry and bitchy anymore when anyone criticizes because I personally feel I AM talented and smart.. but I can't seem to do anything with them... and I get no support.. and then I wonder if I am honestly all that talented at all.

Unfortunately I am with a partner who IS smart.. had a rough life but they sailed through HS.. are very talented artist and is respected.. just hard on their luck right now..

I just don't feel I have the charisma to help folks see I am talented. Not that I am running around saying "I am stupid" all the time. I have gone out there and shared my work.. but I just am not a "salesman".. and so I am a failure.