Obsessions/Compulsions getting in the way?

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
minigrogs

Obsessions/Compulsions getting in the way?

Post by minigrogs »

I have been wondering if anyone deals with something I struggle with. Basically, I am very obsessive/compulsive. But it is not like OCD in a technical sense. It is more like, I like I get an idea in my head of how something should be done, or something i want to do, and it grates at me until I do it. This doesn't sound like a huge deal, but its really gotten in my way. For example, this is my first year teaching. I am teaching three different classes, which can get overwhelming. Particularly because I have a tendency to become obsessed over one small thing, for one class, and then not get to the other stuff I should have prepared, and then need to rush that. I then beat myself up for doing what I feel is a bad job.

I do things like spend 3 hours trying to find a specific 5 minute video I want to show as an example. I do this often. And then don't understand how I have nothing to show for the hours of work I put in. I feel frustrated, stupid, and anxious. I know this makes no sense, but I have the hardest time stopping. I see a therapist and am working on it. I also take vyvanse for ADD type things, and anxiety meds. I am finally focusing on this, so I feel a small degree of hope to change.

But I was wondering if anyone can relate. I mean I also have a MA degree in Mental Health Counseling, and a MA in psychology, but have yet to figure myself out fully. I still struggle with controlling my obsessions/compulsions/anxiety. I am so scared this compulsive behavior is going to prevent me from ever fully succeeding. It has many times.
Colonialpunk

Re: Obsessions/Compulsions getting in the way?

Post by Colonialpunk »

Minigrogs,

I absolutely identify with what you said in regard to having one thing that needs to be done, and needs to be done a specific way.