How to be creative again

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
cyanidebreathmint

How to be creative again

Post by cyanidebreathmint »

I've always been a creative person. This is not to say I have been GOOD at it, although I have gotten the odd compliment. However, for close to a year now, creativity seems to have gotten more and more linked to being triggering for me. Everything I do, I feel like a huge piece of shit shortly after beginning. I just feel like everything I do is worthless, hacky, just too awful to justify the time doing it. It's very painful, because writing and creating was something that once was a refuge from these painful feelings and brought me joy. Now it's something triggering that brings on self-hatred and deep sadness.

Have others of you experienced this? How do you break free?

I am thinking I might start doing something creative that I have never tried before in my life, so that there are no expectations and I will be able to tolerate it if my work is a pile of shit.
manuel_moe_g
Issues: Depression, Anxiety
preferred pronoun: he

Re: How to be creative again

Post by manuel_moe_g »

people like "The War of Art" from Steven Pressfield

my problem was extreme fear of failure paralyzing me. I am imagining being on my deathbed and honestly taking stock of the things I failed to accomplish in an objective but dispassionate and realistic way. it seems to help - fear paralyzes me, so I have no choice but to throw myself into the jaws of fear, let it chew me up, and find out where I end up.
~~~~~~
http://www.reddit.com/r/obsequious_thumbtack -- Obsequious Thumbtack Headdress
PalmcorderYajna

Post by PalmcorderYajna »