Love Won't Fix Her

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
ZackWithHats

Love Won't Fix Her

Post by ZackWithHats »

So this is my first time posting on this forum but I'm going through some stuff right now and just need to vent or talk with other people who have/are dealing with this sort of thing. So here we go.

My girlfriend and I have been dating for about 2 years. But not a solid 2 years. The reason for the on again off again nature of our relationship is due largely to her sever depression. I have loved this girl since the day I met her. And every time we've broken up it kills me because I'm the one that walks away. Every time I've walked away I told myself "You can't fix her" or "You have to take care of you first" or "You can't make her do...xyz". Those are all true and I tell myself that over and over again. But fuck, it hurts so bad. I try so hard to be there for her and be supportive and tell her that I care about her but when the depression comes out to play it's favorite toys are alcohol, drugs, cheating, isolation, anger, absolutes, hopelessness, and the pictures are always black and white. How do I be supportive of someone who won't help themselves? How do I walk away from the feelings I have for her? I feel like Tom Hanks in Castaway when Wilson (his volleyball friend) falls off the raft. I just see her floating away and I try to swim after her but I have to hold on to the raft (my own mental health/well being) or I'll be swept away too. And just like the Tom Hanks character I just want to cry my eyes out while I see my best friend, the person I love, float away on a sea of depression.

I realize this all seems overly dramatic. But it's how I feel. And this is all about sharing right? I'm looking into support groups in my area for families and mental illness, also groups about co-dependency because I know I have that going on as well.

So yeah...I guess that's it. Thanks.
fifthsonata

Re: Love Won't Fix Her

Post by fifthsonata »