To take drugs or not to take drugs

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
Jitters

To take drugs or not to take drugs

Post by Jitters »

I'm trying to decide if I should start an SSRI (lexapro). I've been dealing with generalized anxiety and mild/moderate depression for about 5 years. I think I've been anxious since birth. I went from having panic attacks frequently to very rarely. They are also much milder now. I've been doing talk therapy and CBT for 5 months. I just started a support group for children of dysfunctional families. I also added regular exercise at my therapist's suggestion. All this and I'm still feeling like I could be feeling less anxiety. So my questions is what are your stories? Did you start an SSRI and regret it? Did you try everything and only meds helped? Both my parents take SSRI's and it feels like it's my destiny. Thanks.
kayle
Issues: MDD, PTSD, ADHD
preferred pronoun: She

Re: To take drugs or not to take drugs

Post by kayle »

Everyone is so different when it comes to meds. SSRI's and SNRI's neither worked terribly well for me, didn't make anything worse but not any better either. Considering you've traveled the other avenues of therapy, I can't imagine it being a bad idea. Worst case scenario is they're not much of a benefit. If you feel like you've got room for improvement, then why not?
ladysquid
Issues: social and generalized anxiety, addictive tendencies, depression
preferred pronoun: she/her

Post by ladysquid »

You will never be anxiety free, a therapist in a social anxiety group pounded that into my brain and I found it to put things into perspective. To me, recovery from anxiety is less about wanting to rid myself of feeling uneasy entirely (that's usually what eating/alcohol/drugs/avoidance do and none of those things work long term) and more about taking care of myself, being proactive and listening to my own emotions more.