Awake and Anxious

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
Batmandreams

Awake and Anxious

Post by Batmandreams »

Hello,

This is my first time posting to anything. It's mildly amusing that I feel nervous about posting to a supportive forum on anxiety.

Sometimes I can admit I have an actual diagnosed anxiety disorder, General Anxiety Disorder to be precise. But other times I convince myself I'm just a stupid baby making everything up that needs to get over it.

Assuming for now that it's the former and not the latter the last few weeks I manage to be relatively fine in the morning but then increasingly panic throughout the day until about 4:30pm when it feels like my heart has been punched out of my chest and a hummingbird has been trapped in its place. On the flip side I'm utterly exhausted. Does anyone have any recommendations for something to stimulate me awake without exacerbating the anxiety? I'm pretty sure I just used that word correctly in a sentence.

I know in the grand scheme of things I need a healthy diet, exercise, and regular sleep, all of which I do strive to maintain, but some times I still need that something extra to get me through a long work day. Naturally, in my current state, I fear caffeine.

Thank you to everyone!
oak

Re: Awake and Anxious

Post by oak »

Gosh since I also struggle with anxiety and fear (with a side of regret) I cant offer advice, but I can assure you that you are not alone. Thanks for reaching out.
Work is love made visible. -Kahlil Gibran
A person with a "why" can endure any "how". -Viktor Frankl
Which is better: to be born good or to overcome your evil nature through great effort? -Skyrim
kitkat

Post by kitkat »

It took me a long time to admit to myself or others that I have a problem, but once you've done it, you're on the right track!