No Emotional Support to Work Towards Growth

Before posting a new topic, make sure a similar one doesn't already exist here or in another forum thread more specific to the issue.
bahbahblacksheep

No Emotional Support to Work Towards Growth

Post by bahbahblacksheep »

I've been lying to my parents about my job situation for the past 3-1/2 years. I quit my FT job due to unresolved emotional issues after having struggled with them for years through college and not focusing on obtaining intensive care for them. The lies are crumbling and now my parents are questioning whether I've been lying to them.

I get it. I'm turning 28 this year, and it's a point of concern that I'm not economically self-sufficient. I'm not hitting these milestones that a lot of my peers are hitting. I'm worried as well.

But I also felt like my parents weren't equipped to help me. They're conservative Asian immigrants who put a premium on stability and practicality. Mental health is just beginning to emerge as a relevant aspect of life, but even less so in Asia. If I felt secure in sharing with them, I would have. If I felt that they knew how to help me, I would. But I don't. I don't think that they're in tune enough with the emotional world to know how to properly guide me towards a more grounded existence. It's frustrating because there are people in my life who criticie me for lying, but I feel like I'm just protecting myself. Maybe I'm wrong, but isn't it the job of the parents to convey that they are offering a safe space to share?