Hello!

This is a great way to begin using the site and to give us a chance to get to know you. We can't connect with you if we don't know what's going on with you!
ss_rhae
Issues: anxiety, trauma, intrusive thoughts, suicidal & self harm thoughts, etc
preferred pronoun: she/her

Hello!

Post by ss_rhae »

Hello everyone!

My name is Sabrina, but feel free to call me Rhae if you'd like. I somehow stumbled on the podcast featuring Ashly Burch yesterday and spent my day reflecting on my past and present experiences. Ashly is one of my biggest inspirations, as I too am a gamer (I'm currently a college student and am studying game design) and want to one day dabble in voice acting. Listening to her speak on the loss of her boyfriend David, as well as her anxiety and intrusive thoughts was...freeing. I ended the podcast feeling lighter. Sometimes I forget while buried in a pit of despair that there are millions on this planet that are just like me. That's an amazing feeling.

I am undiagnosed. I have never been to a doctor or therapist regarding the issues I face, despite my constant requests to my mother. I kind of feel icky when claiming to a bunch of people who have been diagnosed that I suffer from severe anxiety because I feel like in order to claim you have it, you need to be told you have it. Maybe that's a bad way to think about it. I guess I sort of view it as disrespecting those who have spent hours talking with professionals about their struggles. I am working hard to find a job and get to a doctor and start therapy as soon as I possibly can. I want help. I need help.