Howdy from Texas

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
Vividly
Issues: Depression, anxiety, ADHD
preferred pronoun: She

Howdy from Texas

Post by Vividly »

Hi everyone. I am a 49-year-old female; I'm a lawyer (family law) in Texas; I have two sons, 23 and 21; I got married last month; and I have suffered to varying degrees from depression, anxiety, and ADHD since my early 30's.

I've had my share of struggles in adulthood and my depression has waxed and waned, largely dependent on the stress quotient at any given time - but I have always managed to bring it back under control with my psychiatrist and medication management. I was in denial about the severity and impact of my depression, anxiety and ADHD until about about two years ago when I had a complete breakdown and was forced to really look closely at my life and how to manage it. I quit practicing law 2 years ago, as I was just unable to function. I felt like a complete failure and loser and I blamed myself and hated myself. I was fortunate to have a supportive family of origin - my brother dragged me to my psychiatrist for weekly therapy, and he participated with me in order to understand my condition and learn how to be supportive and helpful. My parents and my brother set up a fund to pay all of my living expenses every month indefinitely.

Over the course of a year, I began to recover inch by inch. I did some deep soul searching, meditation, and taking stock and did a lot of work to identify my depression/anxiety triggers. I had to accept that I would always have to manage depression and anxiety, and I had to acknowledge that ADHD makes life harder ..but all of these things were manageable and I could have a quality life.