Sinking feeling: acquaintances retiring. My plans at 46.

Whether it is good or bad, talk about it here.
oak

Sinking feeling: acquaintances retiring. My plans at 46.

Post by oak »

Perhaps my siblings here can identify with the following.

I am 46.

I have been working for 30 years. I hope to work another twenty years, and stay one step ahead of automation. That’s my only professional goal.

I can’t tolerate any more working poverty, May have to tolerate paycheck-to-paycheck, and hope/plan to become lower middle class in 2024.

Meanwhile, some of my acquaintances are planning on retiring within a few years.

I don’t resent them, of course.

I realize I had trauma, mainly manifested as alcohol abuse through my early 30s, which stunted my emotional and professional growth.

Eg: every spoon I spend on trauma were spoons my friends spent on diligent choices.

Compound interest (every dollar they saved in their twenties is worth 100 I could save in my 40s) is helping them ascend and crushing me.

I have specific plans to turn around my career in the next six months by means I’ll post about elsewhere.

Just for now, especially over the holidays, who I am is something I can’t pretend I’m not.

I wonder who I could have been had my mother been equipped to raise me.
Work is love made visible. -Kahlil Gibran
A person with a "why" can endure any "how". -Viktor Frankl
Which is better: to be born good or to overcome your evil nature through great effort? -Skyrim
manuel_moe_g
Issues: Depression, Anxiety
preferred pronoun: he

Re: Sinking feeling: acquaintances retiring. My plans at 46.

Post by manuel_moe_g »

oak wrote: December 26th, 2022, 2:37 pm I wonder who I could have been had my mother been equipped to raise me.
Very much worth mourning.

For myself, I mourn what could have been for me for five seconds at a time, just to be safe. I have to keep it that brief. I close my eyes and mourn it for five seconds