#15 Jimmy Dore

Post discussions as new topics.
ether667

#15 Jimmy Dore

Post by ether667 »

Amazing show! (as all have been) As a fan of Jimmy Dore and a listener of the Comedy and Everything Else Podcast, I can honestly say that this is a side of Jimmy not often heard! I had no idea he was into Wayne Dyer and Deepak Chopra. It made me happy to hear him be more vulnerable than usual. Also surprised me about how he's trying to cut down a bunch on pot.

Paul, about the topic of having children: (oh yes! Just what you want, unsolicited advice from a 20-something!)
There is definitely not a time where you're ever 'ready', nor is there a time where you won't have the possibility of fearing regret on becoming a parent. As a 28 year old with two kids, my decision making for this did not come close to being easy. I'm a musician, and was pretty much ready to tour the country when the question came up. Immediately I thought about myself, go figure.

"Yeah, but I won't get to go out and have fun, be free! What if it's too much for me? What I fuck up this kid(s) life because I'm too selfish and horrible at parenting, especially since I'm young and have my own issues?"

It was a hard decision for me to let go, open up, and decide to have the children. I'm not going to say it was a good or bad decision either! No way am I convincing anyone to have or not to have kids, that's you're own decision! I'll just tell you the positive parts. One is that it humbles me, makes me realize that there is a world outside, not just inside. I have others who depend on me, and I'm responsible for being a good person not just for myself but for others as well. I had to get over my phobia (which I still kinda have) of being a bad parent. "Will they think I was a horrible dad?" is a phrase that often heard inside my head throughout the day. It's more selfish than anything though, and it's telling that I'm focusing WAY too much on the future, and not enough on the present.