Depressed in Detroit

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
marykateolsen

Depressed in Detroit

Post by marykateolsen »

“Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounded by assholes.”
Longtime lurker here... but I feel like I'm gonna lose my shit today, I'm hoping a little venting will help, maybe someone out there can even relate?

I was an awkward kid, very shy, bullied a lot and, being a non-confrontational people pleaser, I never, ever stood up for myself. I left my hometown (and all those asshole bullies) as soon as I graduated high school and moved to New York City, where I got into art school, met a bunch of other arty weirdos, and generally had an awesome time for 10 years... then I moved to Detroit. I'd just gotten out of a long relationship and was feeling emboldened by the change. I wanted to try something completely new, not move-to-Portland new like everyone else, no -- I wanted to move to Detroit. "I'll be around REAL people," I thought, "It'll be like NYC in the 70s! Gritty! Raw! Real integrity! Inspiration!" I romanticized it, like I do with everything.

That was 5 years ago, and I feel utterly fucking traumatized by this city. I never identified as depressed or anxious before moving here, now it's practically how I introduce myself. About a year in, I met my boyfriend -- a truly wonderful dude, but a born-and-bred Detroiter with no inclination to move, especially not to NYC, which, like most Detroiters, he views as being frou-frou and phony and full of rich jerks.