Really Freaking Out

Whether it is good or bad, talk about it here.
weary

Really Freaking Out

Post by weary »

Been struggling for a long time with career and marriage issues and trying to find the things about myself that I need to change to be a happier person so that I can fix the problems in those and other areas. Trouble is, I'm so fucked up and I've fucked my life up so much that I can't ever get there. Nothing I do matters. Anything positive is wiped away. Everything is so brittle, so precarious, and liable to come crumbling down at any moment. I can't depend on anyone, especially not myself, and other people depend on me until I don't live up to their expectations and then oh well.

I'm an assistant professor scheduled to go up for tenure next school year, and I have been really getting nervous and feeling the pressure build, because I don't feel very confident, but I was prepared to push as hard as I can all summer (unpaid) to try to nudge the scales over the balance and at least give it my best shot. I just found out there's a chance that I might not get my contract renewed for NEXT YEAR. Not even get the chance to go up for tenure. All this time, it has seemed that the worst case scenario is that I don't get tenure, and then I will have another year of employment after that by contract to look for another position. That seemed terrible enough. Now I'm afraid I may be imminently unemployed.