FrankCashew

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
Frankcashew

FrankCashew

Post by Frankcashew »

I have struggled with depression and anxiety since a very young age. I was a fat kid when there were very few, so I caught hell. I lost a bunch of weight when I was a teen, but I still struggle a lot with it. I have a great life (I am a college professor, am married to a gem, and have two beautiful little girls), but I still struggle a lot with anxiety and frustration. Religion particulary bothers me. I grew up in a mixed faith family (Jewish dad/Catholic mom). They are great people, but I have always felt mixed messages from those two respective faith communities and a lot of rejection when I desired to be integrated into them, especially the Jewish community.
the cheat

Re: FrankCashew

Post by the cheat »

welcome, Frank!

hopefully you'll find a sense of community here. ;)
Paul Gilmartin
Issues: Depression, Alcoholism, Drug Addiction, Incest Survivor
preferred pronoun: He

Post by Paul Gilmartin »

Ditto Frank.

And welcome!

I highly recommend a book called "A New Earth" by Eckhart Tolle. It's about spirituality without the religious trappings. Its really profound and I read a passage almost every day.

Paul
:D
http://mentalpod.comNothing degrades the quality of my life like obsessing about the quality of my life.
Eternally Learning

Post by Eternally Learning »

Welcome Frank! Have you ever considered a Unitarian Universalist church? If you're looking for a religious community where you are welcomed no matter what your beliefs, I'm told they are the place to go. Never been myself, but it seems like it'd be worth a look as a lot of the members can even be atheist.
The purpose of life is to make it mean something.
Frankcashew

Post by Frankcashew »