Just Wanted to Introduce Myself

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
daveyboy54

Just Wanted to Introduce Myself

Post by daveyboy54 »

By way of introduction, my name is Dave Kanofsky and I have suffered from depression ever since I was five years old. In 1986, I was diagnosed with clinical depression. Those depressive episodes cost me one marriage and ruined my financial situation.

Thanks to clinical depression, my decision making ability was down the toilet. When I was in undergraduate and graduate school, I majored in a subject area I did not enjoy but forced myself to go through, not once but twice.. After college, I kept hopping from job to job job. The first several weeks of each job were fine or so I thought. Eventually I would get severely depressed because I really was not happy with the type of job I had applied for in the first place. So I quit, telling myself that the next job would be better. Yeah, right. Never happened.

Since I was in a vicious psychological catch-22, i was never able to save money. They say that insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Do you notice a pattern here ? When my first wife, who was the bread winner, died in 1998, things went from bad to worse. I maxed out my credit cards by borrowing money to live off of since I was too depressed to work. Eventually, I had to declare bankruptcy and went onto disability and my second marriage ended in a divorce.