I am a therapist and I am my own worst enemy.

This is reserved for professionals to talk to each other. If you aren't a professional and want to talk to one, click on Ask a Professional and choose one of our professional volunteers.
NoWireHangers
Issues: Depression, Anxiety, abusive relationships
preferred pronoun: She

I am a therapist and I am my own worst enemy.

Post by NoWireHangers »

Hi all,

Everyday I dole out therapy to young adolescent females who are struggling with anxiety, depression, attachment issues, body dysmorphic disorder, and other assorted mental illness. I work with their families and in group therapy helping them understanding their thought processing and how to better themselves with appropriate coping skills.

And yet when I close the door to my office, all I want to do is turn out the lights, curl up in a little ball, and disappear.

I have suffered from bouts of dysthymia since my early 20s, finding myself the codependent female in 2 abusive relationships. I entered into the therapeutic realm as what seems to be a means to heal myself and my emotionally tumultuous and repressed childhood. I feel like an absolute hypocrite when I work with clients. How am I not able to take my own advice and use the right coping skills? How come I can't get my face out of the carton of ice cream as I emotionally eat? While all my friends are married and having kids, I sit here crying while my cat looks at me and silently says "You're an asshole."

I really enjoy my job, but am becoming increasingly frustrated with my inability to handle my life. If I'm the professional and the expert, I feel like I should have this shit figured out.

Any advice you could give? I feel like I'm living a lie and that the client will find out I'm a fake.
"I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart. I am. I am. I am."
-Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar
tinycarljung
Issues: Depression, anxiety, trauma, trust in relationships
preferred pronoun: He/him