Research Studies

Discuss how medications do or do not work for you. Post as a new topic.
Colonialpunk

Research Studies

Post by Colonialpunk »

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone has participated in any research studies, in regard to medications?

At this point my doctor seems to have tried everything he feels comfortable with (short of ECT) for my medication-resistant bipolar disorder, and I am considering joining a research study in the off-chance they can introduce me to something that makes a difference.

I was hoping there might be someone with a little insight into this realm, as I have no experience in research studies. Any stories?

Thanks!
in_media_res

Re: Research Studies

Post by in_media_res »

I've never participated in a study. Try checking organizations like the National Institute of Health and the like for ongoing studies - there are listings of ongoing studies, and sometimes you can apply.

You might specifically look at scopolamine - I've heard of research into the drug for bipolar. It's used for motion sickness, but reportedly has some impact for depression. Here is an article: http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/744452

Other than that, not sure what to suggest. Good luck.
May you find rest in a peaceful heart.
Colonialpunk

Post by Colonialpunk »

in_media_res,

Thanks, I already know the studies in my area (and have actually met the leading psychiatrist in charge of one of them at a local conference), I am really just concerned at this point with what other people's experiences have been in participating, and whether they would consider the decision to have been a good or bad one in the long run.

Thanks though!
MzNoNamePants

Post by MzNoNamePants »

Hi Colonialpunk, et al,