Borderline Personality Disorder

To open a discussion, post as new topic.
LisaHailey

Borderline Personality Disorder

Post by LisaHailey »

I have just been diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. Does anyone have any experience with this? I am totally lost
Moon Unit

Re: Borderline Personality Disorder

Post by Moon Unit »

My mother was diagnosed with BPD several years ago. It is a very difficult disorder to live with and difficult for those close to individuals with BPD. Are there any specific questions that you have? I am not a qualified professional but I can speak from my experiences.

-Amber
fifthsonata

Re: Borderline Personality Disorder

Post by fifthsonata »

I was diagnosed with it. I have a hard time accepting that, but I can tell you this - what helps me most is education. Find some books about it, familiarize yourself with it. Start with the DSM-IV; read the diagnosis and description. Write out what you identify with in the description - learn to separate yourself from the disorder, because you are NOT your illness. When you can recognize your symptoms in everyday life, it's easier to step back and try to "re-evaluate" your situation and reactions.

If you're anything like me - which, if you have BPD, you just may be ;) - I do not manipulate people as is commonly seen with BPD. Instead I get incredibly emotionally attached to them way too quickly. When I realize I'm latching on too strongly at first to someone, I force myself to step back and take a breather. Intense patterns of unstable relationships with others is a common trait for people with BPD.