Shitty Memory

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
American Russ

Shitty Memory

Post by American Russ »

I think it was about a year ago when I realized something pretty weird. I can't remember my childhood.

I mean, I can kind of remember events and maybe even emotions at certain times, but not the actual "in there" memory. It's more as if I'm just old adult me looking at a child that is supposed to represent who I was and what my life was like. I don't feel the actual connection to the memory. Also, it probably doesn't help that I'm a writer. Writers can be amazing when it comes to three things: storytelling, truth-telling and LYING (or for the sensitive writers reading this, EMBELLISHING). I'm wondering if maybe my inability to remember my childhood is a byproduct of a fucked up concoction of a few of those things.

So, if it's true, if I'm just always lying to myself about how things went while I was growing up, does it add my brain's ability to cover it all up? And when I say "all", I mean virtually everything. If anyone else on the planet lied to me as much as I do to myself, I wouldn't be able to trust the person. In fact, I'd want to punch them in the eyes. Why do I accept it? Why can I write about it here, showing some worth of self-awareness and continue to go on like that? Is it a shield or something?

I had a great childhood, by the way. From what I know. My parents are wonderful people. I wasn't abused and I never had to worry about anything. Also, I know that all parents have flaws and my parents are no exception. But unless they were like beating with dead rats and pouring blood all over my hair on a daily basis and it scarred me so bad that I COMPLETELY make up my own past, something else is going on here.