Can't open my toolbox

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
Nevina

Can't open my toolbox

Post by Nevina »

I feel like I'm hitting some sort of bottom. Not externally - I have a steady, good job and a home and family and pets. But mentally, I'm worse off than I ever have been. I've actually had the urge to cut myself. That's so weird to me, I'm 38 years old! I've never done that before, and the only time prior that I've felt the urge was when I was stuck in an abusive relationship over ten years ago. I haven't done it and I don't think I will. But the anxiety and the addiction voices are so constant I just...

The Universe has presented so much amazing help to me over the past few years. I know WHAT I can do to help myself. I have learned so many great things that would help that I've probably forgotten more of them than I remember. But in a way, that is making things worse because it contributes to my feeling overwhelmed, which paralyzes me further. I have so many tools, but I can't get the toolbox open. I had a mock therapy session in my brain and my therapist told me to just pick ONE tool to start with. Don't try to fix everything at once. And I'm doing that - I'm going to a yoga class in six hours. If I can find my shorts and cut my toenails. Haha, no, I think I'll go even if I have to wear slacks and have gross feet because I am excited about it. I hope it's something I can motivate myself to do regularly because it would help me physically (I have terrible back pain and my muscles are chronically tense from anxiety) and mentally. I need some sort of mindfulness practice in my life and meditation isn't happening. But I still feel like.... aaaaahhh going to yoga doesn't get my past due bills paid and my house cleaned and get me in the shower and out to fun times with friends or stop the cravings for alcohol or other mind-altering substances.