BPD triggering eating/sleeping disorder

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
red_rose_engineer
Issues: Borderline Personality Disorder, Eating Disorder, Sleep Disorder, Panic Attacks
preferred pronoun: She

BPD triggering eating/sleeping disorder

Post by red_rose_engineer »

So I am a college student, which means life is high stress. I can't really afford to have anything be wrong with me, but honestly, who can?

A little history first. I have struggled with eating since middle school, frequently being called anorexic due to my fast metabolism making me stick thin, even though I would be constantly eating. I was obsessed with my image so the thyroid medication I was on I refused to take because it would slow it down and I wouldn't be thin anymore. I started gaining weight about 2 years later before high school. When that happened, I began starving myself, even though it exhausted me. I was on the track team and in the musicals and was a very involved top of the class student. I guess I just eventually gave in and ate somewhat regularly. After that episode, I haven't had a good relationship with food. Either I don't eat at all, or I eat everything.

I was diagnosed last summer with BPD, as well as an unspecified eating disorder and PTSD. I was only in therapy for about 4 months or so. I have never been able to go regularly. I had a few weeks in the middle where I really struggled with eating. I refused to eat for days at a time, and then, for the first time ever, made myself purge. It became a game. See how long I could go, and then purge, and go even longer. I knew I needed to eat to survive, but I couldn't allow it. I had to have the control. Looking back, I see I was in a very manipulative environment with an ex-best friend.