I wish I could control my anger better

Don't be afraid to describe the way you'd like to be hugged and how it would make you feel.
walklikeanegyptian

I wish I could control my anger better

Post by walklikeanegyptian »

My anger control issues are much better than they have been in the past, and sometimes I should get angry, but then beat myself up for it. I'm not good at just gracefully walking away from bad situations -- I wait too long, because I am afraid of change or worry that it's my fault, or that i could talk to them but then don't, etc., until I end up getting angry and walking away. I guess I'm afraid of abandonment, and the idea of ending something (friendship, bad living situation, bad business relatioinship) brings up such incredible anxiety for me, that I just don't make a move at all until the situation "moves" me, or I get angry and then no one is really happy.

I also have always had an overwhelming need to "make people pay" for any unhappiness they have caused me. I want to see them fail or get criticized by someone else for the same thing they did to me. I feel SOOOO defensive, that I can't let it just go -- if I did, something bad would really happen to me. I need to be on my guard and be vigilant and angry. It's not as bad as it used to be, but it's still there.