Ok, I should have done this long ago then... (happy moment)

Describe any moments from your life that were transformative or revelatory, good or bad.
wishkah
Issues: Depression
preferred pronoun: He

Ok, I should have done this long ago then... (happy moment)

Post by wishkah »

The first week of my second year at university of a three year B.A. has just ended. I'm 27 and have previously studied in my home town but after working full time in another city for 7 years i needed a change. Going back to study hit me like a ton of bricks. I have depression and my fear of failure to meet my own unobtainable goals and inability to make friends, in particular with other guys, finally made me seek help. I've been medicated for a year now and was seeing the universities councilor for a couple of months. The advice my councilor gave me was to join a sports team (for both exercise and friendship) and not to worry too much about my studies, as after all I'm a B+ student. Our last sessions were in November as the trimester had ended. Although I wasn't feeling happy around the times of the meetings i hadn't had much to say. She suggested that as the pressure of university had lifted and I would be seeing my family over Christmas that we wouldn't schedule in another meeting. This made me feel that my depression was not valid. Seeing the surveys and other posts i know that sadness for no real reason is valid so this hasn't deterred me from further help if i need it. Around the same time in November i found myself another job. It was an easier role which will be good once uni is in full swing but waiting to go back has been agonizing. I have realized that i am a lot more intellectual than i give myself credit for and the lack of mental stimulation was boring me. As soon as my course readings were available i quickly got a head start. I have enrolled in 4 papers, however I only need to do 3, so I am able to drop one which i dislike by the end of the second week. I feel as if i now have