Paul - Thank you for building this community

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
celebjc

Paul - Thank you for building this community

Post by celebjc »

Hello Paul and fellow MIHH friends. I am calmed and my mood lifts knowing that I am not alone. I look forward to reading and learning from your messages, and I hope that my messages return the same to you all in kind.

I am a married man, athletic, and 56 years old. I work as a web tech in a corporate cubicle farm. The work provides me a degree of satisfaction, but the environment is very ill-managed that makes it difficult to maintain a healthy sense of self. My life long challenge in all endeavors has been a constant fixation on a distorted sense of self: that my brain is damaged; that tinnitus (ringing in the ears) is debilitating my ability to think and analyze. These distorted thoughts create an ever present sense of dread starting with each waking moment.

How did I come to think this way? My upbringing was normal by all outside appearances. Yet, my self-involved, insecure, and frustrated father turns out to have been the most toxic influence in my life. A man of circumstances, born at the onset of the Great Depression, he grew up as a 1st generation American with poor, undereducated eastern European parents that worked menial jobs. Out of these circumstances, my father internalized a constant sense of dread; that financial ruin may be just around the next corner. The upshot is that I grew up in an environment that was infused with a sense of impending dread. As a result I was not given and taught the personal tools to overcome adversity: drive, confidence, optimism, and a healthy sense of well-being.