Suicide just seems easier (TW)

To open a discussion, post as new topic.
Ziggy

Suicide just seems easier (TW)

Post by Ziggy »

All that got me through high school was the thought that things had to get better once I graduated. Now it's been almost six months, I moved across the country, I started university, some things are way better but my mental health isn't one of them.

I was so attached to the idea that becoming independent was the solution that now I'm frustrated and alone. I've been dealing with symptoms for more than 4 years but I've never received any meaningful treatment or gotten any kind of diagnosis. I suffer from extreme mood swings (from self confident euphoria to suicidal depression within the space of hours or days), disordered eating, self harm and suicidal ideation, anxiety, and probably other stuff I don't have terms for. Logically I know these things aren't healthy or "normal", but I've never been taken seriously and I'm scared to seek help because it doesn't seem like I fit cleanly into any particular diagnosis.

I've tried some counselling and talk therapy and though it was helpful in the short term, it didn't improve my mood swings (which I believe are the main issue). The reason I self harm and control my eating is to try to cope with my emotions, but in the past when I was sent to counsellors the focus was on getting me to eat like a normal person and stop cutting myself. That just makes me more suicidal, because I have no way to numb the pain.

There are nurses and other resources available through my university and I'm planning to go talk to someone, but it's hard. The office is difficult to find, it's always busy, when I'm depressed it feels unsafe for me to take the metro because the urge to jump on the tracks is so strong. The only time I'm up to going is when I'm on an upswing, but then I feel on top of the world and it seems pointless to get help (plus I don't want to lose the euphoria).